Make your own free website on
The Sons of the P
The "Sons" lineup in the early '90's.
Digital Underground is the wacky P-Funk troup that consists of Shock-G, Money-B and D.J. Fuze (of Raw Fusion fame), wacky characters like Peanut-Hakeem Humpty-Hump and M.C. Blowfish, and revolving group members D.J. DOT, Jay-Z and Saafir (of Hobo Junction), Esenchill, Dungeon Squad, Pee-Wee and Big Money Otis (of Gold Money). And believe me, there are many more people that that! They were the first on the scene in the '90's with the "family type' thing going on that Wu-Tang does now, the group consisting of many peeps with many side projects, literally having a hand in everything. They first arived on the bland hip-hop scene around 1988 with they're single "Underwater Rhymes" that was put out independantly and were signed under Tommy Boy Records in 1988, releasing the hit album titled "Sex Packets" in 1989. That album set the hip-hop world on fire and totally changed the outlook on music in general. Taking Parliament/Funkadelic, Jimmy Hendrix, and Bootsy Collins samples, Shock and Co. created a batch of gravy that included the singles "The Humpty Dance" and "Doowutchyalike!". The entire album became classic and the group was up for a Grammy nomination. The next album entitled "This is an E.P. Release" was a hit too, with the single "The Same Song" that let the world know that D.U. had indeed "been all around the world". It was this album that introduced us to the gifted individual Tupac Shakur. D.U. was strong, and appeared in the Dan Akroyd movie originally called Valkenvania but later changed to "Nothing But Trouble". Dan Akroyd wanted Digital Underground in the film because he like Shock's "Humpty" character with his fake nose like his own character in the movie. In 1991 Digital let the world know that they were indeed the inheritors of carrying the torch of the P. They ARE the Sons of the P as the title of the album says. Tracks off this are No Nose Job, Kiss You Back that were videos, and the whole album is classic. The 3 years inbetween spawned the hip-hop classic album "The Body Hat Syndrome" along with side projects by members Raw Fusion, Gold Money, and Tupac Shakur, who had Shock on his single "Trapped" and the D-Flow produced "I Get Around" that was D-Flo produced track that was an instant hit. A few years later digital came through on a new label called Critique Records with and album that heads slept on called "Future Rythm". The singles off it are "Walk Real Kool" and "Oregano Flow". This album is a mix of different flavors, setting D.U. up for they're 5th album "Who Got The Gravy" on Jake Records. Shock introduces the world to another character Peanut-Hakeem Anafu Washington, and Mon lets loose on tracks and lets the world know that we need more Man's Girls around. So go pick up a copy of "Who Got the Gravy"..Digital's 5th album. Money B's solo album is out now, go to and buy it..and while your there pick up a copy of D.U.'s "The Lost Files" too! Digital Underground...carrying the way through the millenium.